Lemon Poppy Cake

WIN_20160308_00_28_24_Pro (2)

A fun and deliciously refreshing cake especially in the summer months using my fresh lemons for this recipe. 1-1/2 cups All-Purpose Flour, 1-1/2 cups granulated sugar, one lemon for zest and juice, 2 tablespoons poppy seeds, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon iodized salt, 3/4 cup softened butter, 4 ounces softened cream cheese, 4 eggs, 2 tablespoons cold milk, 1 teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract.

In a mixing bowl add flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, poppy seeds, add lemon zest and juice stir to mix gently with a fork-set aside. In the bowl of a stand mixer (with paddle attachment) add cream cheese, softened butter and run mixer on low to combine, add one egg at a time, add cold milk, vanilla and run mixer again on low to combine. Gradually add the dry ingredients to mixer, once added run mixer on high to combine well together. (Do not over-mix batter).

I use a non stick bundt pan transfer batter into pan, tap on countertop to release air and place in a 325 F oven and bake 55-60 minutes (stick a toothpick inside-it should come out clean when done). Remove from oven to cool. Using a large platter/plate cover bundt pan and flip over to release cake and turn right side up carefully on serving cake plate.

For the icing I use 2 tablespoons lemon juice (sweetened) concentrate (from a bottle), 2-1/2 cups confectioners sugar, and whip together using a hand mixer, add 3 tablespoon milk, 3 tablespoons softened butter, mixer on high, cream together several minutes. You will have a nice thick flavorful icing. Spoon pour icing over cake (be generous) with a large spoon, add lemon zest ( I grate 2 lemons for garnishing) and ENJOY!

It is favorite!!! It is one of my most requested cakes.

Cheryl “Cheffie Cooks” Wiser.

All Things Citrus.

11 thoughts on “Lemon Poppy Cake

  1. You had me at lemon and then I read cake and then I see there’s cream cheese! I am so making this in two weeks! Thank you so much for popping in my blog. I will pass on the love to my kitty. She is a really amazing creature who has attitude that supersedes all of my other pets! I am looking forward to reading more of your posts. Take care and hope your weekend has some sunshine in it! Peace, Koko:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

